The Life-Changing Notebook Habit

About six months ago I developed the habit of carrying a notebook with me everywhere, and it’s been one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. Seriously.

For many of us, our best ideas come when we’re having interesting conversations, but to write them on our phones or computers is too distracting and would probably come across as rude. Not writing them down is even worse, we forget them almost the instant after we conceive them.

“When I get drunk with staff, I won’t remember, so I’ll definitely write it down” – Richard Branson

The other moment when I feel the need to write an idea down is when I’m alone, doing some deep thinking about my life. Using technology is too much of a temptation to get back in touch with the world.

Carrying a notebook has been the perfect solution. Heres why you should have one too:

  • Never lose a thought. You think you’ll remember but chances are you won’t. In under 5 seconds, you can already be writing down your ideas.
  • More freedom for your thoughts. Drawings? Maps? Lists? Prose? A combination? When you have just a blank page and a pen, the sky is the limit.
  • Review the past. Who knows when past writings will spark a new thought?
  • Because these guys carried notebooks too. Twain, Darwin, Picasso, Beethoven, Hemingway, Franklin (Benjamin), Branson, and the list goes on.

The only recommendation I give is to focus more on your reactions than on anything else.

I use a pocket size soft cover black Moleskine and I love it because it fits perfectly in my back pocket. I have even used it as my wallet, since it has a rear inner pocket.

